Skip to main content

Frequently asked questions

This is where you will find most of the answers. If there are still any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Booking

How can I make a reservation?
You can make a booking request via the contact form on this website or send an e-mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. A direct booking will always guarantee you a better rate, as the accommodation platforms take substantial commission.
How do I pay?
Payment is made as follows: 30% at the time of booking, the balance 2 weeks before the start of your stay, and the security deposit 1 week before the start of your stay. The security deposit is returned to you on the day of departure if the inventory of fixtures at the end of your stay allows it. Any bank transfer charges (bank transfer or EU or currency parity) are the responsibility of the customer.
What are the cancellation conditions?
A 30% deposit must be paid at the time of booking. Bookings are non-cancellable and non-refundable. If you cancel more than 2 months before your stay, the deposit will not be refunded. If you cancel less than 2 months before your stay, the full amount is due.
How to get to Chalet des Ours

By car:

From France: follow signs for Geneva, exit the motorway at Annemasse, follow signs for Thonon les bains, then follow signs for Vallée d'Abondance, Châtel.

From Switzerland: head for Monthey - Grand Saint Bernard, leave the motorway at Monthey (exit Portes du soleil), then head for Morgins.

By train:

From France: the nearest station is Thonon le bains, then taxi or bus line 12.

From Switzerland: Aigle station has daily services to Geneva airport. The station - resort connections are then made by taxi. The Léman express runs daily between Geneva and Thonon les bains stations.

By plane: Geneva international airport is just 1 hour 40 minutes from Châtel. Transfer by train to Aigle and then by taxi.

Châtel

Is there a shuttle service?
Plan des navettes de Châtel

The Ski Bus is free. You need to take the Petit Châtel line.

Stop at "Le Dément" 50 m from the chalet on the left. The bus goes up the hill, turns around at the top and goes back down. When you see the bus going up, you can leave and by the time it comes back down, you'll be at the bus stop. 

In winter: Blue Line - Buses every 20 minutes.  Starts early at 7.00am and finishes around 7.30pm with late buses on Wednesday (until 10pm) Thursday / Friday (until 11.30pm) which run from Place de L'Église to Petit Châtel. Winter timetable - from 16 December to the end of April

Summer timetable - from June to mid-September. Reduced timetable of one bus per hour and the buses stop in the village (outside the CA bank) to return to Petit Châtel around 5-10 minutes after the hour.  To get off in the village, you have to go to the stop below us every 25 minutes after the hour.

Can I walk to the village?

You can walk to the village in about 20 minutes (1.2km).

Is it possible to park at the Chalet des Ours?

You can park 2 cars at the chalet.  There is also good parking at all the ski lifts (except Super Châtel). 

What about shopping?

There are two small supermarkets in the village: Casino and Sherpa. There is a large Intermarché on the lower road towards La Chapelle. Opening times are generally as follows: 9am-12pm. 2.30pm - 7pm. On Sundays, it closes at 12 noon.

The excellent Boulangerie opens at 6am and is just past the cinema up the Route de Vonne, with a smaller branch 100m down the hill - near the Super Châtel bubble lift. The filled baguettes, slices of pizza and croque-monsieurs are excellent.

Can you recommend any restaurants?

There are plenty to choose from, here are some of our favourites:

Arc en Ciel - a hotel and bar "Chevy Bar" pizzeria/restaurant/café/ Just below the chalet next to the lift. 0033 (0)4 50.73.20.08 They also offer takeaway pizzas.  Ideal for a first evening after arrival. Ideal for an early evening drink after descending the Barbossine cable car.

Café Zeph - Café and restaurant.  Good brasserie food, especially burgers and fondues. They also brew their own beer. 33 (0)4 50 73 24 15

Le Fiacre - 32 Route du Centre.  Good French restaurant in the valley.  Once again in the centre of the village and reservations are essential.  33 (0)450733046

Chalet Theo - on the mountain just above the chalet - at the back.  You have to walk up - there is no car access.   They have a FB page for the menu. Closed in summer. Ideal for fondue. Tel: 33 (0)683833971

La Poya - Gastronomic. For us the best restaurant, the owners are adorable and the food incredible. (196 Route du Vonne) 33 (0) 450811934

Le Grizzly - on the road to Lake Vonne. Bistro and bar. Warm atmosphere. Alpine atmosphere. Friendly owner. 33 (0)450732478.    

Bistro M - 100m on the left after the Avalanche pub on the way down the hill. What it lacks in alpine atmosphere it makes up for in quality of welcome.

Takeaway Restaurants

Most restaurants offer takeaway meals.

Most restaurants offer takeaway food. We mentioned Arc du Ciel at the bottom of the hill for pizzas. There is also an Italian restaurant serving excellent pizzas and a range of Italian dishes: Pici Pasta 33 (0)450163433. It is located just past the market square, opposite the church. There is also a delicatessen on the Route d'Abondance, L'épicure des Alpes, which serves ready-made meals.

Where to eat on the slopes?

Plaine Dranse

Chez Babeths is a must.  Run by a larger-than-life ex-film star of a certain age. She loves men and tolerates their partners. Inside, it's Christmas 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You'll find it at the top of the Pierre Longue chairlift. Open all year round.

Bookings on 33 (0)450733877.

Try also L'Alpage. Good food. Also open in summer.

Super Châtel

L'Escale - lovely restaurant at the top of the Super Châtel bubble lift. Good food and great views. Closed in summer

Ski area

What are the skiing options from the chalet?

Petit Châtel chairlift: The Petit Châtel chairlift is just below the chalet.  You can walk to it or take the bus to two stops (Le Dément to Barbossine). 

At the top of this chairlift, you need to be able to take a short blue/red run, slightly steep in places, to reach the junction that joins the main runs.  So it's not for beginners at 8.30am on a frosty morning.   

You can return via the return chairlift, to access the loading level you need to be able to ski a red to the top of the forest just behind us. When there's snow around the chalet, it's possible to return by off-piste. 

Télécabine Super Châtel: Accessible from the foot of the chalet by the blue line to the "Centre Village" stop. The best area for blues/greens and beginners and where the ski schools usually meet. A few long ski lifts. Access to all areas (open in summer, as is the MORCLAN chairlift). From here you can ski directly to Morgins and from Morgins to Switzerland and then to Avoriaz.

Linga gondola lift: Accessible from the foot of the chalet by blue bus, stop "Linga". The Linga gondola takes you halfway down, then down a beautiful blue run to the chairlift which takes you to the top where you can ski a beautiful blue or red run to the Pré la Joux / Plaine Dranse areas. The red Linga run is icy at the beginning and end, so think twice if you're an inexperienced skier in cold weather.  The blue run is easier. At the top, you have access to everything

Lac de Vonne chairlift: Accessible from the foot of the chalet by the blue bus at the "Centre Village" stop, then the pink bus at the "Gabelou" stop. You can choose to go to Linga or to the Super Châtel area.  Access to the whole area

La Panthiaz cable car (La Chapelle d'Abondance - at the bottom of the valley, 2-3 miles):  Accessible from the foot of the chalet by blue bus Stop "Linga" then Colombus Line C Stop TC Panthiaz - cost €1.20 Access everywhere via Suisse / Petit Châtel.

 

Cret Beni chairlift (La Chapelle d'Abondance) Accessible from the foot of the chalet by blue bus Stop "Linga" then Colombus Line C Stop Crêt béni - cost €1.20 Same bus as Panthiaz.  A pretty "self-contained" ski area, sheltered in the trees and largely blue.  Perfect for snowy, windy, cold and whiteout days.  But charming at all times. Beautiful slopes. Always a bit quiet.  No big cafe though. 

And for non-skiers, what other activities are available in Châtel?

Aquatic centre

Just past the Sherpa supermarket is the "Forme d'O Spa", a fitness/balneo centre with an indoor pool (29°C), an outdoor pool (32°C), a play area, 3 saunas and 2 hammams. Massages, facials, etc. To book, call 33 (0)450720431.

Bowling

There's a bowling alley right next to the Super Châtel resort.

Snowshoeing

Half-day snowshoe outings can be booked from any of the resort's 13 service providers, or you can pick up maps of marked snowshoe walks from the tourist office and set off on your own.

Ice rink

The 200m2 ice rink is located in the heart of the village. Sessions last 1 hour.

Sledging

At the top of the Super Châtel cable car: fee-paying toboggan run.

Opposite the Pré la Joux chairlift, with the addition of a themed trail: l'Eterlou, free toboggan run.

Sous Vonnes: Etringa trail (free).

Nordic skiing

Nordic ski area based at La Chapelle d'Abondance, with 8 cross-country ski trails, 8 Nordic itineraries, 1 beginners' trail, 1 biathlon shooting range and 1 play area.

Cinemas:

Morclan 2000 and le Chamois, screenings at 5.30pm, 9pm and 2.30pm in bad weather.

© SARL Pauljo | Mentions légales | FAQ

Site développé par Dress Codes

Information request

Skip to main content

Foire aux questions

C'est ici que vous trouverez la plupart des réponses.
S'il reste encore des questions, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Réservations

Comment réserver ?
Vous pouvez faire une demande de réservation via la demande de contact de ce site internet ou envoyer un mail à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.. Une réservation en direct vous assurera toujours un meilleur tarif garantie car les plateformes d’hébergement prennent des commissions importantes.
Comment se fait le paiement ?
Le paiement s’effectue de la façon suivante: 30% à la réservation, le solde, 2 semaines avant le début du séjour, le dépôt de garantie 1 semaine avant le début du séjour. Le dépôt de garantie vous est retourné le jour du départ si l’état des lieux de sortie le permet. Les frais éventuels de transferts bancaires (virement ou UE ou parité de monnaie) sont la charge des clients.
Quelles sont les modalités d’annulation ?
Un acompte de 30% doit être versé à la réservation. Les réservations sont non annulables, non remboursables. Si vous annulez plus de 2 mois avant le séjour, l’acompte ne sera pas remboursé. Si vous annulez moins de 2 mois avant le séjour, la totalité du séjour est du.
Comment se rendre au Chalet des Ours ?

En voiture:

Depuis la France: prendre la direction de Genève, sortir de l’autoroute à Annemasse, suivre Thonon les bains, puis prendre la direction Vallée d’Abondance, Châtel.

Depuis La Suisse: prendre la direction de Monthey - Grand Saint Bernard, quitter l’autoroute à Monthey (sortie Portes du soleil), puis prendre la direction de Morgins.

En train:

Depuis la France: c’est la gare de Thonon le bains la plus proche puis taxi ou bus ligne 12.

Depuis la Suisse: la gare d’Aigle assure quotidiennement avec l’aéroport de Genève. Les liaisons gare - station se font ensuite par taxi. Le Léman express relie quotidiennement les gares de Genève et Thonon les bains.

En avion: L’aéroport international de Genève se trouve à seulement 1H40 de Châtel. Le transfert se fait ensuite en train jusqu’à Aigle puis en taxi.

Châtel

Y a-t-il un service de navettes?
Plan des navettes de Châtel

Le Ski Bus est Gratuit. Il faut prendre la ligne Petit Châtel. Arrêt « Le Dément » à 50 m du chalet sur la gauche. Il monte la colline, fait demi-tour au sommet et redescend. En voyant monter le bus, vous pouvez alors partir et le temps qu'il redescende, vous serez à l'arrêt de bus.

En hiver : Ligne Bleue - Bus toutes les 20 minutes.  Commence tôt à 7h00 et finit vers 19h30 avec des bus tardifs le mercredi (jusqu'à 22h) jeudi / vendredi (jusqu'à 23h30) qui vont de la Place de L'Église jusqu'au Petit Châtel. Horaire d'hiver - du 16 décembre à la fin avril

Horaire d'été - de juin à mi-septembre. Horaire réduit d'un bus par heure et les bus s'arrêtent dans le village (à l'extérieur de la banque CA) pour remonter à Petit Châtel vers 5-10 minutes après l'heure.  Pour descendre au village, il faut se rendre à l'arrêt situé en dessous de chez nous toutes les 25 minutes après l’heure pile.

Comment se fait le paiement ?
Le paiement s’effectue de la façon suivante: 30% à la réservation, le solde, 2 semaines avant le début du séjour, le dépôt de garantie 1 semaine avant le début du séjour. Le dépôt de garantie vous est retourné le jour du départ si l’état des lieux de sortie le permet. Les frais éventuels de transferts bancaires (virement ou UE ou parité de monnaie) sont la charge des clients.
Peut-on se rendre à pied au village ?

Vous pouvez vous rendre au village par une marche d’environ 20 minutes (1,2km).

Est-il possible de se garer au Chalet des Ours ?

Il est possible de garer 2 voitures au chalet.  Il y a également de bons parkings à toutes les remontées mécaniques (excepté à Super Châtel). 

Quelles sont les possibilités pour faire les courses ?

Il y a deux petits supermarchés dans le village : Casino et Sherpa. Il y a un grand Intermarché sur la route du bas en direction de La Chapelle. Les horaires d'ouverture sont généralement les suivants : 9h-12h. 14h30 - 19h. Le dimanche, il ferme à 12 heures.

L'excellente Boulangerie ouvre à 6h du matin et se trouve juste après le cinéma en montant la route de Vonne, avec une plus petite succursale à 100m en bas de la colline - près de l'ascenseur à bulles de Super Châtel. Les baguettes fourrées, les parts de pizza et les croque-monsieurs sont excellents.

Pouvez-vous nous conseiller des restaurants ?

Il y a l’embarras du choix, voici quelques unes de nos bonnes adresses:

Arc en Ciel - un hôtel et un bar "Chevy Bar" pizzeria/restaurant/café/ Juste en dessous du chalet à côté de l'ascenseur.    0033 (0)4 50.73.20.08 Ils proposent également des pizzas à emporter.  Idéal pour une première soirée après l'arrivée. Idéal pour un verre en début de soirée après avoir descendu le téléphérique de Barbossine.

Café Zeph - Café et restaurant.  Bonne cuisine de brasserie surtout Hamburgers et fondues. Ils brassent aussi leur propre bière. 33 (0)4 50 73 24 15

Le Fiacre -  32 Route du Centre.  Bon restaurant français de la vallée.  Encore une fois au centre du village et il faut réserver.  33 (0)450733046

Chalet Theo - sur la montagne juste au-dessus du chalet - à l'arrière.  Il faut monter à pied - il n'y a pas d'accès en voiture.   Ils ont une page FB pour le menu. Fermé en été. Idéal pour la fondue. Tél : 33 (0)683833971

La Poya - Gastronomique. Pour nous le meilleur restaurant, les patrons sont adorables et la cuisine incroyable. (196 Route du Vonne) 33 (0) 450811934

Le Grizzly - sur la route du lac de Vonne. Bistro et bar. Ambiance chaleureuse. Ambiance alpine. Propriétaire sympathique. 33 (0)450732478.    

Bistro M - 100m à gauche après le pub Avalanche en descendant la colline. Ce qui manque à l'atmosphère alpine est compensé par la qualité de l'accueil.

Takeaway Restaurants

La plupart des restaurants proposent des plats à emporter. Nous avons mentionné l'Arc du Ciel en bas de la colline pour les pizzas. Il y a aussi un restaurant italien qui propose d'excellentes pizzas et toute une gamme de plats italiens : Pici Pasta 33 (0)450163433. Il se trouve juste après la place du marché, en face de l'église. Il y a aussi une épicerie fine sur la route d'Abondance, L'épicure des Alpes, qui propose des plats préparés.

Où déjeuner sur les pistes?

Il faut absolument aller Chez Babeths.  Dirigé par une ex-star de cinéma d'un certain âge, plus grande que nature. Elle aime les hommes et tolère leurs partenaires. A l'intérieur, c'est Noël 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Vous le trouverez au sommet du télésiège de Pierre Longue. Ouvert toute l'année.

Réservations au 33 (0)450733877.

Essayez aussi L'Alpage. Bonne cuisine. Ouvert également en été.

Super Châtel

L'Escale - joli restaurant au sommet de l'ascenseur à bulles de Super Châtel. Bonne cuisine et vue imprenable. Fermé en été

La station de ski

Quelles sont les options pour skier au départ du chalet ?

Télésiège Petit Châtel: La remontée mécanique de Petit Châtel se trouve juste en dessous du chalet.  Vous pouvez la rejoindre à pied ou prendre le bus pour deux arrêts (Le Dément vers Barbossine) 

Au sommet de ce télésiège, vous devez être capable d'emprunter une courte piste bleue/rouge, légèrement raide par endroits, pour atteindre le croisement qui rejoint les pistes principales.  Ce n'est donc pas pour les débutants, à 8h30 un matin glacial.   

Vous pouvez revenir par le télésiège retour, pour accéder au niveau de chargement, vous devez être capable de skier une rouge jusqu'au sommet de la forêt juste derrière nous. Lorsqu'il y a de la neige autour du chalet, il est possible de revenir en hors-piste.

Télécabine Super Châtel: Accessible du pied du chalet par le bus bleu Arrêt « Centre Village ». Le meilleur secteur pour les bleus/verts et les débutants et où les écoles de ski se rencontrent habituellement. Quelques longues remontées mécaniques. Accès à tous les domaines. (Ouvert en été, tout comme le télésiège de MORCLAN). D'ici, vous pouvez skier directement jusqu'à Morgins et de Morgins jusqu'en Suisse, puis jusqu'à Avoriaz.

Télécabine Linga: Accessible du pied du chalet par le bus bleu Arrêt « Linga». La télécabine du Linga vous emmène à mi-chemin, puis vous descendez une belle piste bleue jusqu'au télésiège qui vous emmène en haut où vous pouvez skier une belle bleue ou une belle rouge jusqu'aux domaines de Pré la Joux / Plaine Dranse. La piste rouge du Linga est glacée au début et à la fin; à réfléchir si vous êtes skieur inexpérimenté par temps froid.  La piste bleue est plus aisée. Au sommet, vous avez accès à tout

 Télésiège lac de Vonne : Accessible du pied du chalet par le bus bleu Arrêt « Centre Village » puis ligne rose Arrêt « Gabelou ». Vous pouvez aller au choix au Linga ou jusqu'à la zone de Super Châtel.  Accès à l'ensemble du territoire

Télécabine La Panthiaz (La Chapelle d’Abondance - en bas de la vallée, 2-3 miles) :  Accessible du pied du chalet par le bus bleu Arrêt « Linga» puis Colombus Ligne C Arrêt TC Panthiaz - coût 1,20€  Accès partout via Suisse / Petit Châtel.

Télésiège Cret Beni (La Chapelle d’Abondance)  Accessible du pied du chalet par le bus bleu Arrêt « Linga» puis Colombus Ligne C Arrêt Crêt béni - coût 1,20€  Même bus que Panthiaz.  Joli domaine skiable "autonome", abrité dans les arbres, en grande partie bleu.  Parfait pour les jours de neige, de vent, de froid et de voile blanc.  Mais charmant à tout moment. Belles pistes. Toujours un peu calme.  Pas de grand café cependant. 

Et pour les non skieurs, quelles sont les autres activités disponibles à Châtel ?

Centre aquatique

Juste après le supermarché Sherpa se trouve le «Forme d'O Spa », un centre de remise en forme / Balnéo avec une piscine intérieure (29°C), un bassin extérieur (32°C), un espace ludique, 3 saunasse et 2 hammams . Massages, soins du visage, etc. Pour réserver, appelez le 33 (0)450720431.

Bowling

Il y a un bowling juste à côté de la station de Super Châtel.

Raquettes

Il est possible de réserver des sorties à la demi-journée auprès des 13 prestataires de la station ou de se procurer les cartes des balades balisées auprès de l’office du tourisme pour partir en autonome.

Patinoire

La patinoire de glace, d'une superficie de 200m2, se situe en plein cœur du village. La durée des séances est de 1h.

Luge

Au sommet de la télécabine de Super Châtel: piste de luge payante

Face au télésiège de Pré la Joux et complétée par un sentier thématique: l’Eterlou, piste de luge gratuite.

Sous Vonnes: sentier de l’Etringa (gratuit).

Ski Nordique

Domaine nordique basé à La Chapelle d’Abondance, il comprend 8 pistes de ski de fond, 8 itinéraires nordiques, 1 piste d’initiation, 1 pas de tir biathlon, 1 aire ludique.

Cinémas:

Morclan 2000 et le Chamois, séances à 17H30, 21H et 14H30 si mauvais temps.

Et plein d’activités que nous n’avons pas encore testées:

Fantasticable à l’arrivée du télésiège Rochassons à Pré La joux: 04 50 81 34 83

VTT électrique sur neige: sorties – randonnées – cours de pilotage: Bike Leman: 06 65 04 66 76

Vol en parapente biplace: Richard et Olivier, moniteurs diplômés d’état: 06 84 14 95 84

Escape game: Belalp Escape Game dans l’univers des contrebandiers des années 30, Route de Vonnes. Réservation au 06 80 87 40 49

Vol en montgolfière: Montgolfière du Mont blanc, Route de Pré La Joux: 04 58 10 04 11

© SARL Pauljo | Mentions légales | FAQ

Site développé par Dress Codes

Demande de renseignements